I have never been a champion of rhetoric. Those of you that know me, know that I am very critical of myself because of this. Whenever confrontation occurs, my mouth catches on fire with overloaded and untethered emotion. I have a hard time structuring my thoughts and I am eventually rendered inarticulate and unavailing in things I stand for. The painful irony is I always feel the need to defend things and people when they are “threatened”… of course this is more prevalent when the things or people are close to my heart. What good is a wall that protects a city if it is breach-able?  When it comes to people like myself, whom feel the need to defend the “defenseless” things and mysteries of faith, the reality that our tongues are not double edged swords can shatter our footholds. Yet there is redemption.

Though dialogue and rhetorical debates are useful for defending things seen and unseen, they are not sufficient. Not all minds are capable of understanding certain mysteries, especially when prejudices are not in check. Truly we must, “be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear (1 Peter 3:15),”  but when it comes to things for which you are being attacked more than inquired of, only let it go so far, “… As our beloved brother Paul also according to the wisdom given unto him hath written unto you; as also in all his epistles, speaking in them of these things; in which are some things hard to be understood, which they that are unlearned and unstable wrest, as they do also the other scriptures, unto their own destruction (2 Peter 3:15b-16)”.

Our natural answers can only compliment the supernatural… they cannot provide the fullness of its power.

Barukh ata Adonai Eloheinu melekh ha‑olam, ha‑gomel lahayavim tovot sheg’malani kol tov.

Blessed are You, LORD, our God, King of the Universe, who bestows good things on the unworthy, and has bestowed on me every goodness.

Amen. Mi sheg’malkha kol tov hu yigmalkha kol tov. Selah.

Amen. He Who has bestowed on you every goodness, may He continue to bestow on you every goodness. Selah.

