Aaron.jpg

Patronage: Aaron the High Priest, Saint John the Apostle, Holy Mary full of grace

Cardinal Lustiger was the only Jewish born Bishop in France during modern times. He converted to Catholicism during the German occupation of France in WWII at the age of 14. Being a high profile Jewish Convert, later in his life he faced opposition from Israel’s Chief Rabbi who said he betrayed his people and his religion, but Lustiger held firm to the belief that his conversion was not a rebellion but a fulfillment of his calling as a Jew. Pope Benedict XVI praised the Cardinal (Archbishop of Paris for 25 years) in an address saying that he was a “great figure” who spent his life trying to improve relations between Catholics and Jews.

Here are some beautiful quotes…

On his conversion:

“I was born Jewish and so I remain, even if that’s unacceptable for many. For me, the vocation of Israel is bringing light to the Goyim (Gentiles). That’s my hope and I believe that Christianity is the means for achieving it.”

“I am not leaving you. I am not passing into the enemy camp. I’m becoming what I am. I am not stopping being a Jew — just the opposite. I’m discovering a way of living it.”

On Jewish/Christian relations:

“It is impossible for a Christian to be a Christian without the Jewish people.”

“Jews and Christians are the guardians of the revelation of the Only One G-d and of his design to bring all humans together one day.”

“Christianity is the fruit of Judaism.”


