Its been a long while since I’ve written anything substantial on this blog (mostly due to the busy nature of getting married in 2 months and just finishing my degree) but soon here I will write about something that is truly tran-substantial: Holy Communion. I have written about Communion before but only in a fashion that supplements a general understanding of it, which could never give our Blessed Sacrament the intimately detailed explanation its ancient observance deserves.

In the hereafter post I will discuss what Catholicism teaches about the Eucharist and why. Stay tuned…it should be posted within the next week.

Until then meditate on these:

The chalice of benediction which we bless, is it not the communion of the blood of Christ? And the bread which we break, is it not the partaking of the body of the Lord? 1 Corinthians 10:16 (RSV)

He that eats my flesh and drinks my blood has everlasting life, and I will raise him up in the last day. For my flesh is food indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He that eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him. John 6:54-56 (RSV)

Take note of those who hold heterodox opinions on the grace of Jesus Christ which has come to us, and see how contrary their opinions are to the mind of God … They abstain from the Eucharist and from prayer because they do not confess that the Eucharist is the flesh of our Savior Jesus Christ, flesh which suffered for our sins and which that Father, in his goodness, raised up again. They who deny the gift of God are perishing in their disputes. St. Ignatius of Antioch 110 A.D.

