This IS my body...this IS my blood

“The chalice of benediction which we bless, is it not the communion of the blood of Christ? And the bread which we break, is it not the partaking of the body of the Lord?” 1 Corinthians 10:16

“For I have received of the Lord that which also I delivered unto you, that the Lord Jesus, the same night in which he was betrayed, took bread, and giving thanks, broke and said: Take and eat: This is my body, which shall be delivered for you. This do for the commemoration of me. In like manner also the chalice, after he had supped, saying: This chalice is the new covenant in my blood. This do, as often as you shall drink, for the commemoration of me. For as often as you shall eat this bread and drink the chalice, you shall show the death of the Lord, until he come. Therefore, whosoever shall eat this bread, or drink the chalice of the Lord unworthily, shall be guilty of the body and of the blood of the Lord.” 1 Corinthians 11:23-27

Tonight is the Mass of the Lord’s Supper… the night that Christ instituted the Eucharistic Sacrifice of His body and blood during the Jewish Passover meal so that what happened on Golgatha once, might be given to many for all time (Hebrews 10:10).

Notice that after Christ said “this is My Body,” or “this is My Blood,” He didn’t follow up with: “April Fool’s”.

“He that eats my flesh and drinks my blood has everlasting life, and I will raise him up in the last day. For my flesh is food indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He that eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.” John 6:54-56

